James Beard Finalist Focuses on South American Fare

On April 30, Jenner Tomaska—a first-time James Beard Award finalist—will make his solo debut as chef de cuisine at Next, Grant Achatz’s celebrated rotating-concept restaurant in Chicago’s West Loop. more »

Apr 29, 2016 3:30 PM Industry News

Chipotle Working to Rebound After Dismal Q1

Fast-casual restaurant chain Chipotle (CMG) is working to restore its reputation after posting double-digit sales decline in the first quarter 2016—the result of the spate of food-related illnesses that shut down its stores and scared off customers s more »

Apr 29, 2016 3:28 PM Industry News

Cantina Laredo Heading to Turkey

Dallas-based Cantina Laredo is expanding its international presence with a recently signed agreement to open four locations in Turkey over the next three years, with initial development plans in Istanbul. more »

Mar 24, 2016 4:20 PM Industry News

Mariachi Dinner Theater Hero La Fonda Returns to Original Westlake Home

Westlake, California mariachi restaurant legend La Fonda seems to have returned from the depths, bringing back their incredible brand of live band dinner shows on weekends after a nearly ten-year hiatus. more »

Mar 24, 2016 4:19 PM Industry News

Tune In Tonight! Chefs battle it out on Top Chef Mexico

NBC UNIVERSO presents the sixth episode of “Top Chef Mexico,” tonight, March 24, at 9 p.m. Eastern Time (8 p.m. Central, 6 p.m. Pacific). Host Ana Claudia Talancón will separate the remaining contestants into two teams for the Top Chef Classic Restau more »

Mar 24, 2016 4:16 PM Industry News

About this Blog

News about the Mexican restaurant industry.

Feedback? Suggestions? They are always appreciated. Feel free to contact us: Ed Avis

RSS

Agave loco ad
Pansaver Ad
Orion Trading
Day of Dead Beer
HS Ad 2015
Comstock Castle